A- A A+

Councillors & Committees

A councillor is a member of the council and is normally elected for a term of four years. People of any political or religious persuasion are eligible to become a councillor, although their personal views should not extend into their parish council work.

They are elected to represent the interests of the local community as a whole and promote a harmonious local environment. The number of elected councillors depends on the size of the area.

Local councils are the first tier of governance and are the first point of contact for anyone concerned with a community issue. They are democratically elected local authorities and exist in England, Wales and Scotland. The term 'local council' is synonymous with 'parish council', 'town council' and 'community council'.

Under the Localism Act 2011 Members of the Council are required to complete a Declaration of Pecuniary Interest covering themselves and their spouse/partner. These declarations can be found at www.winchester.gov.uk/councillors-committees/parish-councils 

Name Position Ward Committee(s)
Jess Bond             Council Chair; Chair of Finance & Administration, Chair Personnel & Procedures  Shedfield/Shirrell Heath   All Committees,
Co-opted Member of Winchester Standards Committee
Margo Berry   Shedfield/Shirrell Heath 

Cemetery & Common, Open Space, Finance & Administration, Trust 2000 Representative, Transport Rep

Jim Coleman

Chair of Planning

Vice Chair of Cemetery & Common

Shedfield/Shirrell Heath

Cemetery & Common, Planning, Parish Lengthsman Representative, Rights of Way Representative

Jeff Crate   Shedfield/Shirrell Heath  Open Space, Cemetery & Common
Stuart Jones   Shedfield/Shirrell Heath 

Cemetery & Common, Finance & Administration,Open Space, Personnel & Procedures, Planning, PACT Representative

Linda Warren Vice Chair of Open Space Shedfield/Shirrell Heath Open Space, Cemetery & Common
Vacant   Waltham Chase


Kevin Dye

Vice Chair of Council

Chair of Cemetery & Common 

Waltham Chase

Cemetery & Common, Open Space, Finance & Administration, Personnel & Procedures, Planning, St Johns School Liaison, Swanmore College Liaison

Margaret Jones         Vice Chair of Planning  Waltham Chase Open Spaces, Planning, Droxford & District Relief in Need Charities Representative
Maria Robbie Chair of Open Space Waltham Chase Open Space, Cemetery & Common, Finance & Admin, Personnel & Procedures, Planning
  Vacancy Waltham Chase  
  Vacancy Waltham Chase  
  Vacancy Waltham Chase  



Roger Huxstep County Councillor & District Councillor Whiteley & Shedfield Ward

Linda Gemmell

District Councillor Planning – Advisory only, Central Meon Valley Ward
Frank Pearson District Councillor Central Meon Valley Ward
Victoria Weston District Councillor Central Meon Valley Ward
Vivian Achwal District Councillor Whiteley & Shedfield Ward
Roger Bentote District Councillor Whiteley & Shedfield Ward

If you are interested in becoming a Parish Councillor here is some background information that may help you in your decision making.  Currently there is one vacancy for Shedfield/ Shirrell Heath and three vacancies for Waltham Chase.